Minolta wireless remote flash controller.

Cabled, wireless, studio - anything do with using flash
Javelin
Emperor of a Minor Galaxy

Minolta wireless remote flash controller.

Unread post by Javelin »

I just got one of these with a bag of cameras and accessories I picked up along with another 5400xi flash. (also got 700si and 9XI bodies which I've never tried before) This flash controller is all IR but it works a lot better than (or seems to) the flash controlled wireless on the digital cameras as far as triggering out of site flashes. I'm thinking of trying to duplicate this controller using Sony's digital protocols instead of the OTF system. I don't think it would be too hard to read the control flashes and figure out what pulses control what functions to make it work. but this controller charges up like a flash gun and seems to put out quite a bit of IR, basically it obliterates the live view on my nex and cell phone even in another room (bounced through an open door) so I wonder if there is somehow an IR flash tube in this thing? haven't taken it apart yet to see what makes it tick I was just wondering if anyone already knew?
Greg Beetham
Tower of Babel

Re: Minolta wireless remote flash controller.

Unread post by Greg Beetham »

Is that the IR-1n? if so DK wrote an article about the IR-1n some time ago, it’s only purpose in life is to trigger shutters not flashes though, and I don’t think it’s compatible with digital type systems, I think David mentions as much.
http://www.photoclubalpha.com/2007/08/0 ... ibilities/
Greg
Javelin

Unread post by Javelin »

Hi Greg.

No I had one of those and they work pretty well too Yes it is for shutter release. this is another device. it emits only IR to communicate with the flashes and you can set your groups on it. here is a pic from B&H (below)