Hello

Introduce yourself and meet fellow Photoclubalpha members
Mike
Oligarch

Hello

Unread post by Mike »

Hi I'm Mike. I've been stalking around for a bit but I think it's time to introduce myself. In the 80s, in the days that I'll call PK (pre-kids), it was also PAF (pre auto focus), I was an avid amateur photographer. I traveled extensively for work and carried my trusty X700 everywhere. I have literally thousands of boxes of slides in the basement to prove it. (They are sealed up waiting for the day when scanning and memory storage hardware becomes affordable and practical.) Not only do I remember the song "Kodachorme," I know what is. However I preferred Ektachrome, other than a short affair with Fujifilm. Photography was, and is, an expensive hobby so I kind of drifted away.

Now that the kids are grown I have been able to rekindle some old hobbies. One of them is photography. When my trusty DSC-F717 camera started spazzing out on me, I decided the cost of DSLRs had gotten to the point where I wanted one. By the way, I wish I had a beer for every beer I won making bets on the clarity of pictures with my lowly 5 Mega pixel camera. Perhaps the quality of the optics is important too? But I digress. About the same time I got a Bernese Mountain Dog pup that is a great subject, he never complains about posing (though it's tough to get him to stand still).

I was set on getting a Nikon, doesn't everyone want a Nikon? But I did a lot of research and ended up with an a350. A lot of things are the same with digital, an f-stop is an f-stop, depth of field is still depth of field but many things have changed. What's this digital workflow stuff? Why did the people at Ritz Photo look at me funny when I asked them to "turn off auto correction?"