MD mount lenses, what's hot or not!

Devoted to film use, whether using the older manual Minolta system or AF/Dynax/Maxxum system from 1985 on
bfitzgerald
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance

MD mount lenses, what's hot or not!

Unread post by bfitzgerald »

I am toying with the idea of replacing my now in bits X300.
But I have little knowledge of the MD lenses, bottom line is, WA is of most interest, but anything up to short/mid tele. I currently only have a couple of 50mm MD's lying about
I know prices are good on many, and various makers made them, esp primes etc.

Anything stand out good or bad?

One for DK, who should have a fair idea of the story
pakodominguez
Minister with Portfolio

Re: MD mount lenses, what's hot or not!

Unread post by pakodominguez »

MDs better than MCs because newer coating (less prone to flare)
Celtics are cheaper but more plastic on it (REF: http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/Mino ... age/134116" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;)
a 24mm 2.8 will go for about a 100 US$
a 28 or 35 f2.8 for about 50 US$
a 85 Varisoft or a 24 VFC goes for about US$ 800 (Ebay 280276397997; 270400169512)
another beauty is the 35 mm 2.8 Shift CA
There is a highly regarded 35-70 f3.5 too, not that expensive...
Moreinfo @ http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/ManualMinoltaFree/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I use mostly the 24mm 2.8; 35mm f2.8; 58mm 1.4 and the 135mm 2.8

Regards
Pako
------------
http://www.pakodominguez.photo/blog" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
bfitzgerald
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance

Unread post by bfitzgerald »

Thanks for the info on this one..

Shall have to start building up a system, back to the oldie ways. I like MF myself, it's easy on those big split image finders.
narayanasharma

Unread post by narayanasharma »

Narayana here from Bangalore.