My experience going from A700 to Canon 60D

Anything else you want to get off your chest or any public chat you want to continue away from a main topic
bakubo
Tower of Babel

My experience going from A700 to Canon 60D

Unread post by bakubo »

bossel in the thread below suggested that I start a new thread with the topic of my experience with my Canon 60D and comparing it to my A700 which I have been using since February 2008.

http://www.photoclubalpha.com/forum/vie ... =21&t=4722

Earlier in the year I had wanted to get an A7xx this year and then when the A55 was announced I thought I might get both. Well, the A7xx this year was just another Sony rumor that turned out not to be true. I have looked at the A550 several times, but the LCD sticks out so much that using the OVF is difficult for me and the OVF is also not as good as the A700 OVF. The A580 was announced and Sony changed a few strange choices/omissions in the A550, but the OVF didn't change. Considering that Canon, Nikon, and Olympus are able to produce DSLRs with a tilt/swivel LCD and not have it stick out so much that it makes getting to the OVF difficult it is a bit of mystery that Sony can't figure out how to do it. It may be something to do with Sony's LCD mount. It only allows tilting without swivel so maybe that is the reason. At one time I thought it might be the SSS mechanism taking up too much space, but Olympus managed to have both. Also, the A550/A580 don't allow you to separate AF from the shutter button and that in combination with the Sony difficulty in focusing wide angle lenses means that I would be back to the same situation as the A100 -- which I dislike a lot. With the A700 I have it configured so that AF is only enabled by pressing on the toggle so that I can quickly zoom in, AF, and then zoom back out to wide angle to take the shot so I can usually workaround the wide angle AF problem reasonably well.