Minoilta Dimage A1 failure

The Photoclubalpha team will provide answers but anyone who knows the gen can offer theirs too
19dufyliker53
Acolyte
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:25 pm

Minoilta Dimage A1 failure

Unread postby 19dufyliker53 » Sun Oct 21, 2012 5:03 pm

Hi, I have been given a Minoltta Dimage A1 camera not used since 2006. When I fire it up can see last pix 2006 and all the menus BUT when I set it to Record blank screen except for settings and 13" @2.5 in red. Nothing else no image no matter what settings. Help!

David Kilpatrick
Site Admin
Posts: 6248
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 1:14 pm
Location: Kelso, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Minoilta Dimage A1 failure

Unread postby David Kilpatrick » Mon Oct 22, 2012 12:00 am

First thing to check is that the memory card is not entirely full if you have existing pix.

David

19dufyliker53
Acolyte
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Minoilta Dimage A1 failure

Unread postby 19dufyliker53 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:51 am

Hi David
Thanks, yes first thing I did was to delete previous pix. and counter now shows 45 new pix available.

David Kilpatrick
Site Admin
Posts: 6248
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 1:14 pm
Location: Kelso, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Minoilta Dimage A1 failure

Unread postby David Kilpatrick » Mon Oct 22, 2012 11:40 am

Have you tried its video mode to see if that will record?

David

19dufyliker53
Acolyte
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Minoilta Dimage A1 failure

Unread postby 19dufyliker53 » Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:25 pm

Hi David
Yes I've tried all modes video and record but still nothing on screen except for the settings and 13" at 2.5.
David

David Kilpatrick
Site Admin
Posts: 6248
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 1:14 pm
Location: Kelso, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Minoilta Dimage A1 failure

Unread postby David Kilpatrick » Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:18 pm

OK - can you get a menu screen up, and can you RESET the entire system?

David

19dufyliker53
Acolyte
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:25 pm

Re: Minoilta Dimage A1 failure

Unread postby 19dufyliker53 » Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:16 pm

Hi Yes tried default on all menus and even tried firing it up with the Mains adaptor still no picture on record
PS Thanks for all your suggestions any more?
16" @2.5 seems to suggest no light getting to chip?Yes I did take the cover off.
David

David Kilpatrick
Site Admin
Posts: 6248
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 1:14 pm
Location: Kelso, Scotland
Contact:

Re: Minoilta Dimage A1 failure

Unread postby David Kilpatrick » Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:30 am

That does indeed sound as if something may have moved to block the sensor. Look into the len, first, and see whether the iris appears to have an opening and whether you can see anything. The A1 does not as far as I know have a physical shutter, but the aperture might be damaged in some way.

David


Return to “Q & A”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron