Lens Advice

Discussion of lenses, brand or independent, uses and merits
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
Alamein 300
Initiate

Lens Advice

Unread post by Alamein 300 »

So some of you might know that I am a sound engineer by day and hobby photographer by show time :) Slowly but surely there are more and more magazines that are requesting copies and there might actually be a opportunity for me there, in addition to the product shots I already have been doing. Unfortunately though I am really starting to push the limits of what I can do with my lenses (see sig for lens list and pic link). I know that at some point I am going to have to bite the bullet and invest into an actual nice low f-stop, fast, zoom lens. Now I have never been one to really follow the crowd so I have been researching a bit more and more about these puppies and just wanted some additional input. Any concert shooters on here that have such a beast and/or experience with other units? Stay away from certain ones versus others? I have never really dug to deep into these specific lenses because I never thought I would have a need for them. Yet still here I am, so lets hear it! Any input is much appreciated.
My Flickr

a700, vg-c70am, Minolta 28mm 2.8, Minolta 50mm 1.7, Sigma 28-90mm 3.5, Sony 75-300mm 4.5, Minolta RS 70-210mm 4.5, Minolta 28-85mm 3.5, Sony 18-70mm 3.5, Minolta 35-105mm 3.5, Minolta 35-70mm 4, Minolta 70-210mm 4
KevinBarrett
Emperor of a Minor Galaxy

Re: Lens Advice

Unread post by KevinBarrett »

Without any practical experience with the lenses or the subject, I venture to say that there are two categories of lenses you could be looking at: Fast, and Really Fast.