Full Frame UWA choices

Discussion of lenses, brand or independent, uses and merits
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
Birma
Tower of Babel

Full Frame UWA choices

Unread post by Birma »

I've been shooting for a few months now with the A99 and my initial lens line-up has a had a good work-out now.

The SAL 28-75 is fabulous - that's a keeper.

The Sigma 70-300 APO DG Macro is a real surprise - in a good way :) . Still wondering if a 70-200/2.8, or even the SAL 70-400 might be a replacement down the road at some point.

Tamron 90 is faultless from an image pov, but the AF to MF switching is sometimes bothersome and requires the remounting of the lens to sort things out. Still, no immediate plans to replace.

The KM 17-35 f/2.8-4 (D) however is a tiny bit of a disappointment. Perhaps I am expecting too much from an UWA. Corner sharpness and to a lesser degree CA are my main issues.

I'd appreciate any thoughts from the forum members. Nothing very fast required - it will probably live at f/8 to f/11. I have found 20mm and 24 mm both ideal focal lengths for me.

I think that DK has recommended the Sigma 12-24 (both versions). This doesn't appear to be at its best at the long end, but is it better than the KM 17-35? I may miss filters a bit with this lens, but I've found they are quite hit and miss on UWs anyway

Perhaps go for primes? There is the SAL 20/2.8, but that gets so-so reviews. The Sony CZ 24 looks stellar with good corners, but is not really UW. Samyang 24? I hardly ever use AF on the A99 so this may be an option. Is it as good as the CZ in the corners?

I never hear much love for the CZ 16-35, and it is a monster price.
Nex 5, Nex 6 (IR), A7M2, A99 and a bunch of lenses.
pakodominguez
Minister with Portfolio

Re: Full Frame UWA choices

Unread post by pakodominguez »