Minolta 24-105mm D

Discussion of lenses, brand or independent, uses and merits
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
bfitzgerald
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance

Minolta 24-105mm D

Unread post by bfitzgerald »

Ok so the "new lens" has turned up via the bay bargain of £100 (plus a bit for postage)
Opening the package, the lens is absolutely new not even a fingerprint on it no signs of use ever even the mount was pristine very unlikely it has ever been out of the box bar a quick look, so fair dues to the seller who was honest (not I've been using it for a few years quick Mr Sheen job and declaring it "new" rather than mint or whatever). Hood lens caps all as new instructions this probably went AWOL from a film 7 kit and has not been used, and if it has it's one of the best examples I've seen of a s/h lens :mrgreen:

Quick play on APS-C reveals that at the tele end is just fine wide open all the way up to 105mm at f4.5, this was a problem on the 24-85mm where it was hazy in the tele range making f4.5 not really usable which kinda bothered me a bit. I'll be running a roll of 35mm film through it to see how it stacks up on full frame, that's the only way to test it fully. On APS-C it's ok wide end f3.5 though a tad lower on contrast not entirely unusable if you were inside and stuffed for light, it's improves quickly on stopping down a bit, I have to hit FF to see what goes on there.

there is some CA (in some highlight areas) but it does not look excessive on digital so far so I'm not sure that's a problem