SLT a55

Specifically for the discussion of the A-mount DSLR range
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
Dr. Harout
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance

SLT a55

Unread post by Dr. Harout »

Let's begin a new topic. Though I guess this should be either in a new section called SLTs or expand Sony Alpha 100-900 to ... just Sony Alpha Cameras. It's up to DK to decide.
Anyway, some of us already have it, that is the a55 with or maybe without GPS (my son has it, it's the a55v) and we may express our thoughts/feelings/attitudes etc toward the a55. We all know that DK is preparing an article for BJP, nevertheless let us emphasize and discuss things we like/dislike in the a55.
I'm still studying that camera but there are already some points that I like very much (shall mention here).
DK, IanC and Edrice have expressed already in different topics some aspects of it.

So here goes:

* a very light camera specially if mounted with a SAM lens (my son and I have already 2 SAM lenses, SAL30M28-SAM & SAL85F28-SAM). Lightness of a camera is needed, say, when on a long hiking, mountain climbing when every extra weight counts (I know, NEX is much lighter)

* I like very much a feature called "focus magnifier" which is very helpful specially when using manual focus lenses or AF lenses in manual focus mode (quite possible other DSLRs share this feature, but it's a good thing to have it here).

Will continue the list later on with brief points in each post.
Last edited by Dr. Harout on Sun Dec 05, 2010 10:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A99 + a7rII + Sony, Zeiss, Minolta, Rokinon and M42 lenses

Flickr
Ian C
Heirophant

Re: SLT a55

Unread post by Ian C »

Excellent idea!

* Agree, very light camera, excellent for light weight camera rigs for my car photography venture.

* Super fast 10fps + great continual autofocus speed for tracking fast moving objects.