Using DNG converter +LR on A77II raw files

Specifically for the discussion of the A-mount DSLR range
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
Argonaut
Oligarch
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:59 pm

Using DNG converter +LR on A77II raw files

Unread postby Argonaut » Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:49 pm

I'm inches away from pulling the trigger on the A77II, but my software can't handle its RAW files (LR4 and PS 5). I know I can convert any ARW to DNG with Sony software. My question is, is there a difference in the final 'product' when comparing LR's importation of these files (means upgrading for me) to the DNG conversion imported into LR 4?
Sony a77ii, a580, a55, RX-100; Rokinon 8mm f/3.5; Tamron 17-50; Minolta 100-400 APO; Sony 70-400G; Lightroom 5.7; Photoshop CS5; PicturesToExe 8.0.

User avatar
sury
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 4316
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:58 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA

Re: Using DNG converter +LR on A77II raw files

Unread postby sury » Thu Nov 13, 2014 5:55 pm

I had no problems with A900 RAW files and LR3. Are A77II RAW files are larger and/or different?

Sury
Minimize avoidable sufferings - Sir Karl Popper

User avatar
Dusty
Emperor of a Minor Galaxy
Posts: 2299
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Re: Using DNG converter +LR on A77II raw files

Unread postby Dusty » Thu Nov 13, 2014 6:10 pm

I do believe the 77II has 14 bit, and not 12 bit, RAWs.

Dusty
A couple of a350's, an a700 and now an a580, plus even more lenses.

User avatar
sury
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 4316
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:58 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA

Re: Using DNG converter +LR on A77II raw files

Unread postby sury » Thu Nov 13, 2014 7:45 pm

Aah! Thank you Dusty for the info.
Minimize avoidable sufferings - Sir Karl Popper

User avatar
the_hefay
Viceroy
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:32 am
Location: Wyoming, USA

Re: Using DNG converter +LR on A77II raw files

Unread postby the_hefay » Thu Nov 13, 2014 8:08 pm

I was looking for some .awr files from the a77ii to download for testing with my software. All I could find online were .tiff files.
Image

User avatar
UrsaMajor
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 673
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:36 am
Location: Southern California

Re: Using DNG converter +LR on A77II raw files

Unread postby UrsaMajor » Fri Nov 14, 2014 4:42 am

sury wrote:I had no problems with A900 RAW files and LR3. Are A77II RAW files are larger and/or different?

Lightroom 4 and Photoshop 5 were both released before the A77II, so they did not support files from that camera when initially released. If the A77II had been released before LR5 or PS6, they would have added support for its files, but since the A77II was released AFTER LR5 and PS6, Adobe forces you to buy the updates to those programs to get support for the A77II files.

- Tom -


Return to “Alpha A-mount System”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests