Model(s) Fatigue - Any suggestions?

Specifically for the discussion of the A-mount DSLR range
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
sury
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance

Model(s) Fatigue - Any suggestions?

Unread post by sury »

My a900 has 60K+ clicks and A700 has about 30K clicks. They both still work very good.

What I am going through is a Model(s) fatigue. I read how the latest models have improved
so much in so many different areas and get tempted to upgrade but the sensible side kicks
in and tells me not to bother; since lacking all the touted improvements did not prevent me from
enjoying my cameras for my style of photography, which is shall we say shoot first and talk later style. :D
I am a perpetual amateur that likes to take photos of all kinds.

With the lenses and accessories that I have, I have no desire to switch mount. What I am struggling
with, is the ennui that comes with using the same gear for a long period of time.

Some recent temptations were: A7R, A6000, A99, and eve A7S.
Tried QX10 and HX50V as toys and use HX50Vas a travel companion.

Other than the obvious suggestion of buy a new body or lens any insight(s) or suggestion(s)
to mitigate my "existential angst" is/are most appreciated.

With best regards,
Sury
Minimize avoidable sufferings - Sir Karl Popper
Birma
Tower of Babel

Re: Model(s) Fatigue - Any suggestions?

Unread post by Birma »

Hi Sury. Sounds like GAS :) The thing that both those camera lack that I would miss is Live View. But then, 90% of my pictures are taken of stationary subjects, on a tripod. If you are happy with the view finder then there is none better than the A900. Changing your camera body would get you the old little feature (e.g. GPS/Live View/Electronic Level) and may be a slight improvement in ISO improvement, and may be slightly better AF and shutter speed.