Page 1 of 1

64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:53 pm
by sury
My A900 is having difficult time keeping up with a 64Gb CF card. Granted it was an used card and worked flawlessly for about 3-4 months, the combo has become unreliable. All of a sudden, Camera freezes saying it cannot read the card. Only options I found to work at that point: 1) Replace the card 2) Remove the card, load the images to computer, format the card, put it back in the camera and say ok to formating the card in camera.

I tried removing battery and putting it back in and it did not work. There is no discernable pattern for me to avoid. I am suspecting it may have to do with the card, since other cards (16Gb, 8Gb, 4Gb) do not have this issue.

Any insight? Any suggestions for me to try (other than get a new camera :) ). Thank you in advance for your help.

Sury

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:03 am
by the_hefay
I'm not really sure, but it sounds to me like the card might be failing. What you've described is exactly how a couple of USB flash drives of mine acted shortly before not working at all.

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:53 pm
by sury
Thank you Jeff. Hopefully, that's all there is to it.

Sury

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:34 pm
by Dusty
Just had to rescue the images from a card (smaller, but don't remember size) from my sister's a850!

If a single card starts acting up, replace it! The images are worth more than the cost of a new card!

Dusty

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2015 6:37 pm
by sury
Dusty,
So very true. Yes, indeed. It is the single card that I acquired recently ( about 4 month ago) that is causing the problem.
I am looking for a brand new card. Either 2 32GB or a 64GB is what I have in mind.

Sury

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:16 am
by ValeryD
Sury, If you looking for the trouble - 64GB
32GB - should fit to your camera perfectly fine. By the age or date of manufacture, a900 doesn't have right support for card > 32gb. Other issue with manufacture name Lexar 400x or 600x works very good. Second good Sandisk 400x but with short life period. Sandisk can quit working without any reason. Sony card not bad too.

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:02 pm
by sury
Valery,
Thank you very much for the input. Let me then try a 32Gb card. My A900 was one of the earliest Alpha's. It was
purchased in Dec. 2008. At least I feel good that it worked as well as it did so far.

Sury

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:47 am
by Birma
I believe the A7RII will work with 128 GB cards, Sury ;)

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:43 pm
by aster
.
Birma wrote:I believe the A7RII will work with 128 GB cards, Sury ;)



There's never a thing called pressure or gentle induction on this board. :D

Good luck resisting, Sury. :)

Yildiz

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:58 pm
by mikeriach
Andy, you're just winding us up now!
I have nothing bigger than 32s (mainly Transcend plus 2 Lexar), a few 16s (Sandisk and Sony) and a single Sandisk 4.
Mike

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:07 am
by sury
aster wrote:.
Birma wrote:I believe the A7RII will work with 128 GB cards, Sury ;)



There's never a thing called pressure or gentle induction on this board. :D

Good luck resisting, Sury. :)

Yildiz


I know, right!hiccup! :lol:
Resistance is futile.... :D

Sury

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:33 pm
by PeterTheJet
Hi Sury
Is the card you are using a Kingston? I have heard of problems with these cards, Sandisk support say the a900 will do 128 GB CF card
http://pct1.sandisk.com/ProductList.aspx?DeviceID=18065
Hope this helps
Pete

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2015 11:48 pm
by sury
Pete,
Thank you for the link. I bought a used card (on a whim) from eBay. Pretec is the brand name and I have not had any issues
till recently (in the last few months). It is also a slower card (233X). So it looks more likely than not that the card is failing (perhaps).
I am looking into buying one of the latest generation cards (UDMA7 type) and brand new so that I am not dealing with uncertainity.

With best regards,
Sury