64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Specifically for the discussion of the A-mount DSLR range
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
User avatar
sury
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 4316
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:58 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA

64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby sury » Mon Jul 06, 2015 11:53 pm

My A900 is having difficult time keeping up with a 64Gb CF card. Granted it was an used card and worked flawlessly for about 3-4 months, the combo has become unreliable. All of a sudden, Camera freezes saying it cannot read the card. Only options I found to work at that point: 1) Replace the card 2) Remove the card, load the images to computer, format the card, put it back in the camera and say ok to formating the card in camera.

I tried removing battery and putting it back in and it did not work. There is no discernable pattern for me to avoid. I am suspecting it may have to do with the card, since other cards (16Gb, 8Gb, 4Gb) do not have this issue.

Any insight? Any suggestions for me to try (other than get a new camera :) ). Thank you in advance for your help.

Sury
Minimize avoidable sufferings - Sir Karl Popper

User avatar
the_hefay
Viceroy
Posts: 1173
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:32 am
Location: Wyoming, USA

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby the_hefay » Tue Jul 07, 2015 2:03 am

I'm not really sure, but it sounds to me like the card might be failing. What you've described is exactly how a couple of USB flash drives of mine acted shortly before not working at all.
Image

User avatar
sury
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 4316
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:58 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby sury » Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:53 pm

Thank you Jeff. Hopefully, that's all there is to it.

Sury
Minimize avoidable sufferings - Sir Karl Popper

User avatar
Dusty
Emperor of a Minor Galaxy
Posts: 2299
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby Dusty » Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:34 pm

Just had to rescue the images from a card (smaller, but don't remember size) from my sister's a850!

If a single card starts acting up, replace it! The images are worth more than the cost of a new card!

Dusty
A couple of a350's, an a700 and now an a580, plus even more lenses.

User avatar
sury
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 4316
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:58 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby sury » Tue Jul 07, 2015 6:37 pm

Dusty,
So very true. Yes, indeed. It is the single card that I acquired recently ( about 4 month ago) that is causing the problem.
I am looking for a brand new card. Either 2 32GB or a 64GB is what I have in mind.

Sury
Minimize avoidable sufferings - Sir Karl Popper

User avatar
ValeryD
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 592
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 2:25 pm
Location: Winnipeg
Contact:

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby ValeryD » Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:16 am

Sury, If you looking for the trouble - 64GB
32GB - should fit to your camera perfectly fine. By the age or date of manufacture, a900 doesn't have right support for card > 32gb. Other issue with manufacture name Lexar 400x or 600x works very good. Second good Sandisk 400x but with short life period. Sandisk can quit working without any reason. Sony card not bad too.
Everything in the life unusual!

User avatar
sury
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 4316
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:58 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby sury » Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:02 pm

Valery,
Thank you very much for the input. Let me then try a 32Gb card. My A900 was one of the earliest Alpha's. It was
purchased in Dec. 2008. At least I feel good that it worked as well as it did so far.

Sury
Minimize avoidable sufferings - Sir Karl Popper

User avatar
Birma
Tower of Babel
Posts: 6679
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby Birma » Thu Jul 09, 2015 11:47 am

I believe the A7RII will work with 128 GB cards, Sury ;)
Nex 5, Nex 6 (IR), A7M2, A99 and a bunch of lenses.

User avatar
aster
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 5300
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby aster » Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:43 pm

.
Birma wrote:I believe the A7RII will work with 128 GB cards, Sury ;)



There's never a thing called pressure or gentle induction on this board. :D

Good luck resisting, Sury. :)

Yildiz

User avatar
mikeriach
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 644
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Aberdeen

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby mikeriach » Thu Jul 09, 2015 10:58 pm

Andy, you're just winding us up now!
I have nothing bigger than 32s (mainly Transcend plus 2 Lexar), a few 16s (Sandisk and Sony) and a single Sandisk 4.
Mike
Some Sony stuff and now some Nikon stuff (shock horror). Sony cannot supply what I want so rightly or wrongly I'm branching out to someone who does.

User avatar
sury
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 4316
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:58 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby sury » Fri Jul 10, 2015 12:07 am

aster wrote:.
Birma wrote:I believe the A7RII will work with 128 GB cards, Sury ;)



There's never a thing called pressure or gentle induction on this board. :D

Good luck resisting, Sury. :)

Yildiz


I know, right!hiccup! :lol:
Resistance is futile.... :D

Sury
Minimize avoidable sufferings - Sir Karl Popper

PeterTheJet
Acolyte
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 7:26 pm
Location: Tyneside UK

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby PeterTheJet » Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:33 pm

Hi Sury
Is the card you are using a Kingston? I have heard of problems with these cards, Sandisk support say the a900 will do 128 GB CF card
http://pct1.sandisk.com/ProductList.aspx?DeviceID=18065
Hope this helps
Pete

User avatar
sury
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 4316
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:58 am
Location: San Jose, California, USA

Re: 64Gb CF card and A900 Issue

Unread postby sury » Tue Jul 14, 2015 11:48 pm

Pete,
Thank you for the link. I bought a used card (on a whim) from eBay. Pretec is the brand name and I have not had any issues
till recently (in the last few months). It is also a slower card (233X). So it looks more likely than not that the card is failing (perhaps).
I am looking into buying one of the latest generation cards (UDMA7 type) and brand new so that I am not dealing with uncertainity.

With best regards,
Sury
Minimize avoidable sufferings - Sir Karl Popper


Return to “Alpha A-mount System”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron