KM5D sensor failure?

Specifically for the discussion of the A-mount DSLR range
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
User avatar
bfitzgerald
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 3572
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:48 pm

KM5D sensor failure?

Unread postby bfitzgerald » Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:22 pm

Noticed strange purple blooming at the top, much less at low ISO quite a lot more at high ISO assume the CCD is on the way out?
Lens change no effect same, sensor looks clean this body does have FBF issue (my original one is working still was fixed under warranty)
PICT6902.jpg
PICT6902.jpg (118.73 KiB) Viewed 509 times

User avatar
bakubo
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 5631
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:55 am
Location: Hawaii
Contact:

Re: KM5D sensor failure?

Unread postby bakubo » Tue Sep 18, 2018 6:26 am

I do not know what the problem is, but you have to admit you have got a lot of use out of your KM 5D. It came out over 13 years ago. In the digital age that seems like ancient history. I hate for stuff I still like to have problems, but after more than a dozen years it might just be time to accept that these digital cameras don't last forever. Good luck though.

User avatar
bfitzgerald
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 3572
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:48 pm

Re: KM5D sensor failure?

Unread postby bfitzgerald » Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:44 pm

I'm not complaining there is a problem (used both bodies a lot got my money's worth out of them and then some), I was just curious as to what the issue is. There is an interesting development I have noticed...that is if I take a second shot straight away afterwards it's fine, I also tried it in cont. drive and again images were fine.
My thoughts are it's something to do with the first black frame problem (this was the camera I bought from Australia for not that much a good while back), my original 5d was sent in and fixed for free and I've not seen any problems with it since. Looks more likely to be related to that shutter/mechanism, I'm sure DK would have an idea if he's around. I'll still use it, was just curious about why it did that


Return to “Alpha A-mount System”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests