A77 - how to get started

johnstra
Heirophant

A77 - how to get started

Unread post by johnstra »

Can anyone help me with the file format settings on the A77? I want to get started with video, initially only in a small way. I am thinking of getting Sony Movie Studio Platinum 12 for editing. Assuming that I have that, should I set the A77 to 50p 28m AVCHD for best quality and can I then convert in the editor if I want a format that can be written to DVD or posted on the web? I am a complete novice with video so I will be glad for any advice
Bob Johnston
Birma
Tower of Babel

Re: A77 - how to get started

Unread post by Birma »

Hi Bob - sorry you haven't had a knowledgeable reply so you'll have to put up with me :) .

I am still very much finding my way with video as well. I had all sort of problems with AVCHD regarding compatibility and so I just use .mp4 now. I wasn't using the same Sony s/w as you though. For my purely home use this is still great quality imho.
Nex 5, Nex 6 (IR), A7M2, A99 and a bunch of lenses.
johnstra
Heirophant

Unread post by johnstra »

Hey, thanks very much for the reply. I was wondering if I had upset everyone somehow. I guess that we must be the only ordinary forum members that are trying video. I was hoping though that David would chip in with some advice as I am sure that he has the answers. The reasons that I am thinking of getting Sony Movie Studio Platinum 12 are that it is cheap (about £30), it is recommended by PCPro as being the best budget video editor and finally I assume that, being Sony, it will be able to handle AVCHD. Garry Friedman recommends MP4 too though. I am sure that you are right in saying that it is good enough.
Are you out Mr Kilpatrick? Any recommendations?

Thanks again
Bob Johnston
mikeriach
Imperial Ambassador

Unread post by mikeriach »

i also had problems playing back so only use the mp4 format.

Mike
All my Sony SLT gear gone. Still got my RX100 though.
Iknowit
Acolyte

Unread post by Iknowit »