Help with noise

From RAW conversion to image editing and printing
Mike
Oligarch

Help with noise

Unread post by Mike »

What are the tool/workflow options for noise reductions caused by a350 at higher ISO settings? As will become obvious in the post I'm new to digital workflow, please be gentle, but any comments or suggestions are most welcome.

I've been working on taking pictures at indoor dog shows. They make for terrible conditions, low light from multiple sources with different temperatures and quick movement. Flashes not allowed. In order to not have motion blur I have to increase the iso resulting what looks like the noise I use to get with iso 400 film. Here is a good example. Only processing is cropping and conversion to JPEG in PSE7.
Noise-example.jpg
Currently I'm using a a350 with SAL-135F18Z or SAL-85F14Z depending on the distance. I don't think a faster lens is an option. Since I can't yet afford an a900 don't think I can get any practical improvement with hardware. Next time I plan to use a tripod and remote release but I don't think that that will address the noise issue.

I've been playing with trail version of Neat Image but I'm a bit underwhelmed. Perhaps I just need to play with it some more. I'm not happy with the fact that it only works with jpeg. Perhaps I just need to sort out the order, addressing cropping, color balance and ARW/JPEG conversion in PS and then work on noise reduction in other software such as Neat Image.
Thanks in advance for any help.
Dr. Harout
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance

Re: Help with noise

Unread post by Dr. Harout »

Try to overexpose a bit and use softwares able to reduce the noise, e.g. Noise Ninja or DxO Optics Pro (frankly I haven't use them, but almost everybody praise those).
There were too many topics related to high ISO shooting, do a search on this forum.
A99 + a7rII + Sony, Zeiss, Minolta, Rokinon and M42 lenses

Flickr
01af
Imperial Ambassador

Unread post by 01af »