DxO 6 now out

From RAW conversion to image editing and printing
stevecim
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:22 am
Location: Australia

DxO 6 now out

Unread postby stevecim » Wed Nov 04, 2009 4:58 am

http://www.dxo.com/intl/photo/dxo_optics_pro/new_in_V6

one of the new features

manual corrections of vignetting and distortion are now possible for all lens types, even if there is no DxO optics module yet available. An “unsharpen mask” tool that can regulate sharpness and controls for correcting perspective are also available for all lenses.

peterottaway
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 601
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:24 am
Location: Northam, Western Australia

Re: DxO 6 now out

Unread postby peterottaway » Wed Nov 04, 2009 7:33 am

At this time only for Windoze. Whether thats for 32 and 64 bit versions of XP, Vista and the so called Windows 7 ?

stevecim
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:22 am
Location: Australia

Re: DxO 6 now out

Unread postby stevecim » Wed Nov 04, 2009 10:51 am

I think it's only a 32bit windows app. should run on XP/Vista/win7 I run version 5 on all three.

stevecim
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:22 am
Location: Australia

Re: DxO 6 now out

Unread postby stevecim » Wed Nov 04, 2009 11:44 am

I will not comment on DxO's output, I'll leave that for the experts :)
I just installed it and am about to take it for a test run.


Preferences:
* You can now limit the maximum number of images per project. 500 recommened
* Has Project autosave you cam set autosave time in minutes.
* Set number of simultaneously processed images , for my PC option is 1 or 2 , I only have a dual core CPU, I guess a four core CPU would allow you to select 1-4 images.

* Select panel seems to run quicker, you can change the size of the thumbnail images, on my 22" wide screen monitor, the smallest images size show about 250 images, largest size about 24 images.

* Workspace seems more configurable you can even float the project windows, good for 2 screen users, like my self :)
* process image in 34 seconds, about the same has version 5 on my system.
* seems to use less RAM, version 6 using about 263MB with no images selected compared to ver. 5 325MB


Return to “Digital Workflow and PP”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron