Page 1 of 2

New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:43 am
by David Kilpatrick
See:

http://www.photoclubalpha.com/2010/03/3 ... converter/

Sony announced this today - new algorithm to improve ISO from 800 to 12,800 on Alpha raw file conversions.

This could be the forerunner of brand new firmware for Alpha models.

David

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:06 am
by braeside
Thanks for the heads up David.

I am struggling on the (awful) Sony site to find the download.

Is there a direct link to it anywhere?

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:32 am
by David Kilpatrick
I've hunted Sony worldwide so far English language and can't find it. I have now emailed their European press office to ask that the link should be made usable as soon as possible. They did not place any embargo on the story and I had it up and on the site within 15 minutes of being issued.

That was my first priority. After that, I went to download the new IDC - with the same experience you had. It isn't there. Another Sony Alpha own goal.

David

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 11:34 am
by braeside
Thanks David, it is good to know it isn't just me!

Interesting that this has come out soon after Lightroom's much better noise handling in the latest beta.

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:33 pm
by agorabasta
April Fools, anybody?

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:46 pm
by David Kilpatrick
I don't think the Sony EU Press Site would issue an April Fool - more likely they should not have released it on March 31st, but decided they had to because April 1st would have been bad luck...

David

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:38 pm
by dennismullen
Follow the link and download the program. You will find it is indeed ver. 3.2.

Cheers,

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 4:57 pm
by braeside
What link? - I cannot find a Macintosh version, only a Windows .exe.

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:12 pm
by agorabasta
Well, the Windows ver works OK. Same fine noise as with Lr3 and/or as with internal a5x0 conversion. They all obviously use the same basic kind of development. We have discussed it at these boards some half a year ago...

BTW, the a200/300 files get a huge boost in high-ISO quality, much better than seen in Lr3b2 (which Lr must be too 'beta' in that particular respect).

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 5:26 pm
by braeside
I see there is a direct link for Mac and Windows on David's blog article now - thanks.

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:07 pm
by David Kilpatrick
A couple of quick samples have been added to the page. I will get some proper higher ISO files located or shot, and compare LR3b2, IDC3.2 and - who knows, maybe ACR 5.7 by next week...

David

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 2:47 am
by Vidgamer
OK, why does it say (both here and on DPR) that it's not for the A100? Doesn't seem right... :(

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 8:07 am
by aster
Hi,

Eventually and hopefully Sony will create the DSLR that my heart desires and I won't hesitate to get it. But I agree with Vidgamer and don't understand why my 'dignified' A100 is left out of all the improved software or firmware.

The dynamics of the whole undertaking is ging wrong somewhere in those Sony departments.


Yildiz

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:04 am
by David Kilpatrick
I think they simply mean the new algorithm does not improve A100 results - possibly because the A100 always used a similar algorithm anyway (sharp grain, not smeared, no big clumps).

David

Re: New IDC version with high ISO fix

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:45 am
by aster
David Kilpatrick wrote:I think they simply mean the new algorithm does not improve A100 results - possibly because the A100 always used a similar algorithm anyway (sharp grain, not smeared, no big clumps).

David


I trust your word, David. It may very well be exactly that as you have had a chance to run some tests on some photos but I haven't yet thus having no idea.

The A100 got some 'outcast' treatment in past as to firmware updates so the tendency lingers in my memory I suppose.

Thanks

Yildiz