New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

From RAW conversion to image editing and printing
User avatar
David Kilpatrick
Site Admin
Posts: 6207
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 1:14 pm
Location: Kelso, Scotland
Contact:

New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

Unread postby David Kilpatrick » Sat Oct 29, 2011 11:00 pm

http://www.photoclubalpha.com/2011/10/2 ... nload-now/

It's not actually improved what matters of course!

David

User avatar
pakodominguez
Minister with Portfolio
Posts: 2400
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

Unread postby pakodominguez » Sun Oct 30, 2011 5:26 am

David Kilpatrick wrote:http://www.photoclubalpha.com/2011/10/29/image-data-converter-v4-download-now/

It's not actually improved what matters of course!

David

So? Worthwhile installing ir? Or we just keep working with lightroom? ;-)

User avatar
Dr. Harout
Tower of Babel
Posts: 5769
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 7:38 pm
Location: Yerevan, Armenia
Contact:

Re: New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

Unread postby Dr. Harout » Sun Oct 30, 2011 7:57 am

It takes around 15MB on your PC, so why not.
A99 + Sony, Zeiss, Minolta, Rokinon and M42 lenses

Flickr

User avatar
David Kilpatrick
Site Admin
Posts: 6207
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 1:14 pm
Location: Kelso, Scotland
Contact:

Re: New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

Unread postby David Kilpatrick » Sun Oct 30, 2011 11:33 pm

It's very useful to stick on a computer with limited power. It is slow even on a fully configured machine, but does not seem to lose much on a basic laptop. I've got it on my laptop not my main machine.

David

User avatar
KevinBarrett
Emperor of a Minor Galaxy
Posts: 2562
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:32 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington, USA
Contact:

Re: New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

Unread postby KevinBarrett » Mon Oct 31, 2011 5:46 am

Just downloaded it to my netbook. I might see how it fares on that machine when I need it, but I doubt that time will come before my next opportunity to travel.
Kevin Barrett
-- Photos --

User avatar
bfitzgerald
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 3378
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:48 pm

Re: New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

Unread postby bfitzgerald » Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:58 pm

Tried it just for fun. It does seem multi core CPU aware ie if you have 4 cores it will use them all. It's not too bad speed wise with a faster modern pc I can't imagine you'd put up with it running it on an Atom CPU though!

It should be quicker esp making adjustments they should be near instant ala LR3 can't see folks using it if they have lightroom though IDC is free

Scrabo
Acolyte
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 7:05 am

Re: New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

Unread postby Scrabo » Mon Nov 28, 2011 2:31 am

I installed it on an XP machine with SP3 and the stupid thing just refuses to run, anyone else had this issue ?

User avatar
[SiC]
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 498
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:16 am
Location: Hammarö, Sweden
Contact:

Re: New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

Unread postby [SiC] » Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:42 pm

Scrabo wrote:I installed it on an XP machine with SP3 and the stupid thing just refuses to run, anyone else had this issue ?


Have to double-check but I think I have SP3 and installed without hassle...
Sony A700, KM D7D & VC-7D, M Dynax 500si
KM 17-35 F2.8-4 D, M 50 F1.7 RS, M 135 F2.8, M 28-100 F3.5-5.6 D, M 100-200 F4.5, T 70-300 F4-5.6 Di USD, S 18-55 F3.5-5.6 SAM, S 18-70 F3.5-5.6
Dörr D-AF42
Sammy Gio & broken SE Satio

User avatar
aster
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
Posts: 4837
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 2:33 pm

Re: New IDC v4 version for all Alpha and NEX raw formats

Unread postby aster » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:27 am

Scrabo wrote:I installed it on an XP machine with SP3 and the stupid thing just refuses to run, anyone else had this issue ?


Hi Scrabo,

I have XP SP3 installed as well. IDC V4 installs and runs fine on my laptop. The only frustrating thing that happens is while I try to process any RAW files; the software crashes the computer after a couple of settings... I wasn't able to save any photos as processed, unfortunatley. The computer shuts itself off.

I went back to IDC V3.

Yildiz


Return to “Digital Workflow and PP”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest