A77, Lightroom and Win XP

From RAW conversion to image editing and printing
User avatar
Omega892
Oligarch
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Fareham, Hants. UK.
Contact:

A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby Omega892 » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:05 pm

After a long hiatus I am getting back into imaging now that I have the disabling gout in the right hand under control - crosses finger - oops silly cannot do that and purchasing a A77.

Now up until now Lightroom 2 (don't laugh) has done all I need and upgrades always seem to cause pain. However investigating it seems that things have now moved on to Lightroom 4 which, according to the Adobe web page, requires Vista, Win7 etc.

As I am still running XP even if somehow I can get hold of Lightroom 3 will

a) run on XP

b) have the A77 support required?

I have a fast processor and enough memory for LR4 so should be OK with LR3.

Thanks in advance.
'Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.' - Benjamin Franklin

User avatar
pakodominguez
Minister with Portfolio
Posts: 2537
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby pakodominguez » Tue Apr 02, 2013 7:16 pm

If you are not planning to upgrade to Win8 any soon, the solution for you is using the Adobe DNG Converter and convert your ARW to DNG...
Pako
------------
http://www.pakodominguez.photo/blog" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
artington
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:22 pm

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby artington » Tue Apr 02, 2013 8:20 pm

LR3 runs ok on xp but I don't know whether it will recognise a77 raw. The Adobe site will tell you. LR4 is miles better but you do need win7.

Eiffel
Initiate
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 6:49 pm

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby Eiffel » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:51 pm

Support for the A77 was added with LR3.5 so you should be good to go.
Proud owner of DK's dearly missed A900 ;-)

User avatar
Omega892
Oligarch
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Fareham, Hants. UK.
Contact:

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby Omega892 » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:27 pm

Thanks pakodominguez but what is Adobe DNG converter, is it a part of Photoshop, I only have Elements 6 or 8 and E8 gave me problems with Lyson CIS inks and printer profiles for my Epson R2880. There is a thread nearby on my experiences.

I have heard that Win8 could give trouble with running my Dimage Scan Elite II which is probably OK with Win7, and I know where to go for a computer with that OS, I have a local guru for building to spec, but money is tight for awhile now.

Thanks also Eiffel but where would I buy LR 3.5 now? I am still on LR2.
'Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.' - Benjamin Franklin

User avatar
pakodominguez
Minister with Portfolio
Posts: 2537
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:38 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby pakodominguez » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:46 pm

Omega892 wrote:Thanks pakodominguez but what is Adobe DNG converter, is it a part of Photoshop, I only have Elements 6 or 8 and E8 gave me problems with Lyson CIS inks and printer profiles for my Epson R2880. There is a thread nearby on my experiences.

it is a free download from the Adobe Labs
Omega892 wrote:Thanks also Eiffel but where would I buy LR 3.5 now? I am still on LR2.

If LR3.5 sup-port the A77, you don't need the DNG converter (and that is really good cuz it is one less step on your workflow)
I can send you the install for LR3, and I guess you can buy the license online from adobe...
Pako
------------
http://www.pakodominguez.photo/blog" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
Omega892
Oligarch
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Fareham, Hants. UK.
Contact:

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby Omega892 » Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:10 pm

pakodominguez wrote:I can send you the install for LR3, and I guess you can buy the license online from adobe...

Thanks again, but I am not sure how Adobe would react to that as I have just come off an online chat with Adobe support and, having laid out my problem precisely, was offered a download link for a 30 day trial of Lightroom 3 (not sure what sub version that would be) and drew a blank when asking directly about purchasing 3.5 (or later 3.x version). But LR4 and a new computer to run it - oooch!

That is twice Adobe have really bugged me. They would not answer my question as to why Elements 8 insisted on overriding set up Printer profiles, see http://www.photoclubalpha.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3762, when E6, or E3 did not and produced the results I wanted. I never did get to the bottom of that so uninstalled Elements 8 and decided not to purchase ANY later versions.

Time to look for alternatives to Adobe. Yeah I know, good luck with that. Grrr!
'Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.' - Benjamin Franklin

User avatar
Omega892
Oligarch
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Fareham, Hants. UK.
Contact:

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby Omega892 » Wed Apr 03, 2013 3:13 pm

I may have found the solution to my Lightroom problem by finding a copy of LR3 at everyone's favourite Internet shopping site. Advertised as Lightroom 3.0 so if the upgrade link in the software plays ball I should be OK. It should do seeing as Lightroom 2 'Check for updates' still offers me one update to my current version of LR2.

Thank you for your help.
'Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.' - Benjamin Franklin

User avatar
mikeriach
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Aberdeen

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby mikeriach » Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:24 pm

You should be able to update the LR3 to the last 3.X whatever it is.
I find the A77 quite chunky so hopefully you'll adjust to it just fine.
Only problem might be the buttons but I'm happy with mine.

Good to have you back (like the Avatar by the way, I loved the RN Buccs and F4s).

Mike
Some Sony stuff and now some Nikon stuff (shock horror). Sony cannot supply what I want so rightly or wrongly I'm branching out to someone who does.

User avatar
dewarp
Oligarch
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:35 am
Location: South Africa

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby dewarp » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:00 am

Omega892 wrote:I may have found the solution to my Lightroom problem by finding a copy of LR3 at everyone's favourite Internet shopping site. Advertised as Lightroom 3.0 so if the upgrade link in the software plays ball I should be OK. It should do seeing as Lightroom 2 'Check for updates' still offers me one update to my current version of LR2.



Hi Lionel

Good to see you back here.

Be very careful when buying second hand copies of Adobe software - e.g. see:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/854077

regards - Peter

User avatar
Omega892
Oligarch
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Fareham, Hants. UK.
Contact:

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby Omega892 » Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:36 am

dewarp wrote:Be very careful when buying second hand copies of Adobe software - e.g. see:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/854077

regards - Peter

Thanks for the warning but the one I went for was being sold as new, and e-bay not involved BTW.
'Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.' - Benjamin Franklin

User avatar
Omega892
Oligarch
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:13 pm
Location: Fareham, Hants. UK.
Contact:

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby Omega892 » Fri Apr 05, 2013 3:57 pm

mikeriach wrote:Good to have you back (like the Avatar by the way, I loved the RN Buccs and F4s).

Mike

Thanks (the other redhead was a starlet in a James Bond movie who came on board in 71 whilst Ark was assisting with shooting), some of my pic's from back then (on SRT-101) have appeared in some recent books.
I note we have one member around here, Dusty, from the spiritual home of the F4, St Louis, Missouri.
'Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety.' - Benjamin Franklin

User avatar
Dusty
Emperor of a Minor Galaxy
Posts: 2308
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 5:04 pm
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby Dusty » Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:28 am

Omega892 wrote:Thanks (the other redhead was a starlet in a James Bond movie who came on board in 71 whilst Ark was assisting with shooting), some of my pic's from back then (on SRT-101) have appeared in some recent books.
I note we have one member around here, Dusty, from the spiritual home of the F4, St Louis, Missouri.


YEs, I'm just a few miles down the road from the old McDonnel-Douglas Headquarters (Now a branch of Boieng). Many of my friends have been involved with the F4 and F15 over the years. Several years ago, one retired fellow told me he had been called back to work to source the no longer made electronic parts needed for F15 control component manufacturing. He spent the day scouring the internet for them is foreign countries. Seems it's easier to find no longer made old stock and buy it than it is to update it with new components. Mosty, I think, due to re-certification.

Dusty
A couple of a350's, an a700 and now an a580, plus even more lenses.

User avatar
mikeriach
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 645
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Aberdeen

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby mikeriach » Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:13 pm

For Dusty.
This was the display crew making a spirited departure from the airshow at Boscombe Down many years ago.

Mike
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg (82.26 KiB) Viewed 2030 times
Some Sony stuff and now some Nikon stuff (shock horror). Sony cannot supply what I want so rightly or wrongly I'm branching out to someone who does.

User avatar
Birma
Tower of Babel
Posts: 6679
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 3:10 pm

Re: A77, Lightroom and Win XP

Unread postby Birma » Sun Apr 07, 2013 7:55 pm

That is a fabulous shot Mike :)
Nex 5, Nex 6 (IR), A7M2, A99 and a bunch of lenses.


Return to “Digital Workflow and PP”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron