Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Devoted to film use, whether using the older manual Minolta system or AF/Dynax/Maxxum system from 1985 on
User avatar
Atgets_Apprentice
Viceroy
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Unread postby Atgets_Apprentice » Fri Aug 03, 2012 10:30 pm

I picked up an excellent 600si on ebay this week for the massive sum of £15.49! It is very clean, has been well looked after, came with two 2CR5s, and, as far as I can see, everything works. Obviously, the proof will be when the first roll gets processed, and I see just how well it does.

Image

This is my second 600si. Ironically, I sold the last one to buy the Dynax 5 I'm replacing!
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....

User avatar
harveyzone
Oligarch
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 11:54 am
Location: Worcestershire, England

Re: Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Unread postby harveyzone » Fri Aug 03, 2012 10:51 pm

I am a little jealous, as I have fancied one of these since they were introduced, but am not willing to spend too much on one as I will not use it much. I might have stretched to £15.49. :D
--
Tom

User avatar
Atgets_Apprentice
Viceroy
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Unread postby Atgets_Apprentice » Sat Aug 04, 2012 9:58 am

It is a lovely camera, with a very user friendly layout. I parted with my first one because I had an 800si at the same time, and both of them with VGs, and wanted to reduce the weight I was carrying. Maybe I should just have sold the grip from the 600! It is much more comfortable for the size of my hands than the Dynax 5, and means I don't need to find a BP-200 anymore!
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....

User avatar
mikeriach
Imperial Ambassador
Posts: 647
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:29 am
Location: Aberdeen

Re: Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Unread postby mikeriach » Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:18 pm

Atgets_Apprentice wrote:It is a lovely camera, with a very user friendly layout. I parted with my first one because I had an 800si at the same time, and both of them with VGs, and wanted to reduce the weight I was carrying. Maybe I should just have sold the grip from the 600! It is much more comfortable for the size of my hands than the Dynax 5, and means I don't need to find a BP-200 anymore!


I nearly bought a 600Si but ended up with a pair of 700Si.
I was nearly swayed as the controls were a bit more conventional compared to the 700Si and 800Si.
Still have a 700Si with grip if you could be tempted...oh and a 5400HS flash. :roll:

Mike
Some Sony stuff and now some Nikon stuff (shock horror). Sony cannot supply what I want so rightly or wrongly I'm branching out to someone who does.

User avatar
Atgets_Apprentice
Viceroy
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Unread postby Atgets_Apprentice » Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:05 pm

mikeriach wrote:
Atgets_Apprentice wrote:It is a lovely camera, with a very user friendly layout. I parted with my first one because I had an 800si at the same time, and both of them with VGs, and wanted to reduce the weight I was carrying. Maybe I should just have sold the grip from the 600! It is much more comfortable for the size of my hands than the Dynax 5, and means I don't need to find a BP-200 anymore!


I nearly bought a 600Si but ended up with a pair of 700Si.
I was nearly swayed as the controls were a bit more conventional compared to the 700Si and 800Si.
Still have a 700Si with grip if you could be tempted...oh and a 5400HS flash. :roll:

Mike


Get thee behind me, Satan! I think Mrs A-A would string me up if I bought anything else just now!

I do prefer the controls on the 600si. I moved up to the 800si from the 700si, and got the 600si as my second body. Mind you, I loved the 600 so much, it almost became my number one!
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....

User avatar
Atgets_Apprentice
Viceroy
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Unread postby Atgets_Apprentice » Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:51 pm

A comparison between the a580 & Dynax 600si:

a580 + Tamron 18-250mm -
Image

Dynax 600si + Minolta 28-80mm D -
Image

Both images SOOC, a580 L 16.2mp Jpeg, 600si Fuji ISO 400

I prefer the colour on the film, personally.
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....

User avatar
Atgets_Apprentice
Viceroy
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Unread postby Atgets_Apprentice » Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:15 am

OK, brain picking time:

Does anyone know how to get the shutter on a 600si to fire with no lens fitted? I want to use my Helios 44-2 58mm with A mount adapter, but it just won't fire. :(
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....

User avatar
harveyzone
Oligarch
Posts: 173
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 11:54 am
Location: Worcestershire, England

Re: Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Unread postby harveyzone » Sat Oct 06, 2012 11:38 pm

Atgets_Apprentice wrote:OK, brain picking time:

Does anyone know how to get the shutter on a 600si to fire with no lens fitted? I want to use my Helios 44-2 58mm with A mount adapter, but it just won't fire. :(


According to here it is press and hold the LENS RELEASE button and FILM SPEED button with the lens removed and move the power switch from LOCK to ON. (OFF appears in LCD panel).
--

Tom

User avatar
Atgets_Apprentice
Viceroy
Posts: 798
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Dynax 600si Classic - Back to the future

Unread postby Atgets_Apprentice » Sun Oct 07, 2012 12:58 pm

harveyzone wrote:
Atgets_Apprentice wrote:OK, brain picking time:

Does anyone know how to get the shutter on a 600si to fire with no lens fitted? I want to use my Helios 44-2 58mm with A mount adapter, but it just won't fire. :(


According to here it is press and hold the LENS RELEASE button and FILM SPEED button with the lens removed and move the power switch from LOCK to ON. (OFF appears in LCD panel).


Thanks! I'll try this juggling trick later, though I think I might need to grow another hand!
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....


Return to “Film SLR systems”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron