It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 3:15 am


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]
Author Message
 Post subject: Sigma
Unread postPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:15 pm 
Viceroy
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
I have a Sigma EF 500 DG ST flash I bought a while back to use on my a100, and recently went to use it on my a580, only to find that it wouldn't fire. Does anyone know if there is a compatibility issue, or do I have a fault I don't know about? (I only bought the Sigma flash because my previous one wouldn't work on the a100 because of compatibility.)

_________________
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sigma
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:28 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 1:14 pm
Posts: 6176
Location: Kelso, Scotland
I had the latest Sigmas recently and both standard and Super appeared fine on A580, A55, A77. But the 500 is now a couple of generations old so might not. Not firing at all seems odd. Check the contacts?

David

_________________
http://www.photoclubalpha.com
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sigma
Unread postPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:46 pm 
Viceroy
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
The contacts seem fine, David, and the flash works on the a100, but just not the a580! Weird!

_________________
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sigma
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:47 pm 
Viceroy
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Update:

The flash decided to stop working in early December again, after only minimal use, and was returned to Sigma for a second time.

I have just had an e-mail from them to say they can't find anything wrong, and that the update they did previously was fine.

If it doesn't work when it returns on Friday, I will be in the market for a new unit, so does anyone have any suggestions, apart from the obvious Sony ones?
I could have done without this, as I had intended buying a Ultra Wide zoom, and would sooner have spend my money on that, rather than a new flash. :-(

_________________
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sigma
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:06 pm 
Minister with Portfolio
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:38 pm
Posts: 2358
Location: NYC
Metz flashes, all the way.

_________________
Pako
------------
http://www.phototeka.net/qosqo.php


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sigma
Unread postPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:43 pm 
Viceroy
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Thanks, Pako. I spent yesterday looking online and reading reviews, and came to the same conclusion!

_________________
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sigma
Unread postPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:32 am 
Oligarch

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 2:23 pm
Posts: 202
Location: Looe
I'll 2nd that vote for Metz!

Philip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sigma
Unread postPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:44 pm 
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:48 pm
Posts: 3268
I'll add my vote to Metz too (with a nod to Yongnuo if you want a bargain manual flash for off camera work)
I think Sigma will have to follow Metz with this firmware update choice it's been a problem for Sigma on other mounts as well.

They do some decent flashes no question, but new models arriving all the time it's needed.
The Metz flashes are so good I can't see any reason to look at the Sony ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Sigma
Unread postPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:57 pm 
Viceroy
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 3:02 pm
Posts: 798
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Well, Metz here I come. The flash arrived back from Sigma today (minus the 4x AA batteries I sent with it), and whether they did anything or not, I know not, but it still doesn't fire, unless you are using the test button. The Dynax 5, 600si & a580 don't even register its presence.

I just have to find a stockist in Glasgow to "Try before I buy", which is going to be fun, now that Jessops has gone.

_________________
XG-1, XD-5, XD-7, X-500, XG1n, X300, 7000i, 700si, 800si, 500si Super, 600si, Dynax 5, KM 7D, a100, a200, a300, a580. And another 600si.....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net