Wireless flash question

Specifically for the discussion of the A-mount DSLR range
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
883robert
Acolyte

Wireless flash question

Unread post by 883robert »

Hi all, newbie here.
I'm using my A700 and HVL 42AM flash for portraits and can't balance the lighting as I'd like to.
I have the flash operating wirelessly, illuminating the subject from one side through an umbrella. My problem is that the on-camera flash which triggers the HVL is providing fuil illumination to the subject. I want the HVL to be the main light with the on-camera flash only providing fill.
I've tried flash exposure compensation but that reduces the light from the HVL. The only way I can get the results I want is to tape some fabric over the on-camera flash to attenuate its light. Is there another way to raise the output of the wireless flash relative to the on-camera flash? If I can find a solution to this then my next step is to incorporate a hair light and a back light using old flash units I have lying around.
thanks in advance
Robert
Javelin
Emperor of a Minor Galaxy

Re: Wireless flash question

Unread post by Javelin »

The onboard flash shouldn't be influencing the scene at all .. it is possible to make it add some light using extreme settings but I notice i can eliminate that effect by choosing HSS and a higher shutter speed. what your saying is the subject is lit completely with the onboard while still firring the wireless and thats not been my experience with my 36. David know the system very well and might be able to shed some light (haha) on the subject...
883robert
Acolyte