"Mythical Lenses"

Discussion of lenses, brand or independent, uses and merits
Forum rules
No more than three images or three external links allowed in any post or reply. Please trim quotations and do not include images in quotes unless essential.
bfitzgerald
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance

"Mythical Lenses"

Unread post by bfitzgerald »

Thought it might be useful for users to share experiences with some of the less well used lenses out there.
This is my list of lenses I have no experience of - maybe people who have used them can comment.

Minolta/Sony 16mm F2.8 fisheye
I can get hold of one of these for a nuts low price, I just wonder if it's a lens I'd use that much
Minolta/Sony 20mm F2.8
Another prime I toyed with getting, but it was costly on the Sony badge - prices on the Minolta version seem fairly good now
Minolta 28-70mm F2.8 G
Prices falling in this one recently - a quick read of my old photo magazine showed a list price of £1000 in 2005!
Minolta 17-35mm F3.5 G
What I've read it's not better than the budget KM/Tamron offering, if that's true remains a mystery ;-) Was also around £1000 in 2005
Minolta 24mm F2.8
Another never used prime on the might try list
Minolta 35mm F1.4 G
Seems some people find this lens to be anything but great from a technical angle, whilst others swear it has a unique "look". I never had this on my list as I find 35mm primes a bit here nor there - ie not wide, not tele
Sony Zeiss 50mm F1.4
When it came out it was expensive - but compared to the new L mount Panasonic 50mm F1.4 it looks like a bargain on the used market and much smaller - is it any good though?
Sony 55-300mm
Using FF not a lens I'd be that interested in, but some say it's sharp puppy for crop users
Sony 70-300mm G
Prices falling on this (first version), with mixed reports on the performance
Sony 70-400mm G
another on the buy list, some decent prices on this one in recent times