Infrared Filters

All the funky stuff which turns your 550 gramme DSLR into a 5 kilo bag...
Birma
Tower of Babel

Infrared Filters

Unread post by Birma »

Complete newbie IR questions :shock:

On the recent "Trees" picture thread (http://www.photoclubalpha.com/forum/vie ... =17&t=3711) John showed a beautiful IR image taken using a filter. I wanted to ask for some suggestions around IR filters, but I thought it better to do it away from the Tree thread so it didn't get hijacked with a gear discussion. John warned me of using anything too flimsy (I think). I was considering this product from Cokin:
http://www.warehouseexpress.com/buy-cok ... r/p1000762
UK Ebay stores seem to have this for about £20. Is this the same product that you have John? Anybody else have any suggestions? I wanted to find a filter option rather than going for the expense of converting a body (which I understand is another option?).

I have found this site http://www.dpfwiw.com/ir.htm which talks about IR photography, anybody body else have any suggestions?
Nex 5, Nex 6 (IR), A7M2, A99 and a bunch of lenses.
Dr. Harout
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance

Re: Infrared Filters

Unread post by Dr. Harout »

I'll ask Armen. He was on his way to try some IR shots. I'll give him a call tomorrow.
BTW, AFAIK you cannot make IR shots with either Nikon or Canon. You have to remove the inner filter. Correct me if I'm wrong. :roll:
A99 + a7rII + Sony, Zeiss, Minolta, Rokinon and M42 lenses

Flickr
Birma
Tower of Babel

Unread post by Birma »

Thanks Doc.
Juanito200
Viceroy

Unread post by Juanito200 »