Rear format reducing converter

For discussion of the E and FE mount mirrorless system
David Kilpatrick
Site Admin

Rear format reducing converter

Unread post by David Kilpatrick »

I am not very good at finding the right formulae to work out optical maths, but from a few experiments this morning I believe that in order to condense the image from a full-frame Alpha lens on to NEX APS-C, a converter tube roughly 11 to 12mm long (maybe as short as 10mm) containing an aspherical LD two-element positive lens group, 40mm in diameter, positioned to be as close as possible to the rear element of the Alpha lens, with a power of maybe 10 dioptres/f=100mm would perform the function.

I don't have a +10 CU lens here to test this out. I have used my 85mm Samyang manual Alpha lens to project its image circle, then placed a +4 CU lens (the most powerful I have) up to the rear element. This reduced its rather generous image circle from around 50mm to around 40mm, with a corresponding 20% or so reduction in the flange to focal plane distance. I may be able to construct an optical bench, which I do not have now (I once had one) to test this with precision.

One thing I'm sure of - it is possible. Whether a converter could be made using a simple, slim design with only two or so elements I am not so sure. New glass types, aspherical moulding and hybrid elements could surely keep aberrations to a minimum.

David
Javelin
Emperor of a Minor Galaxy

Re: Rear format reducing converter

Unread post by Javelin »

I'm just going to restore the register distance of the original lenses (SR mount) 43.5mm Why would you want to have glass in the adaptor? purely for size?
Javelin

Unread post by Javelin »

I see the answer in your other thread. you want to be able to convert the image circle of the lens down to APS-C to restor the lenses field of view and than can haopopen because there is no mirror. can that be done with one element? does it need to have coatings to eliminate reflections ?