Using Linux for photography

From RAW conversion to image editing and printing
bakubo
Tower of Babel

Using Linux for photography

Unread post by bakubo »

I am just wondering if anyone here is using Linux for their photography? Of course, I know that most people here are using Windows or Mac.

I used Linux for some pretty heavy-duty software development in 2002 -- Mandrake Linux/KDE -- so I have some Linux experience (not for photography though), but I am sure things have progressed a lot since then. I also did software development on Unix V6 back in the very early 1980s. I have been using various versions of Windows (95, XP, Vista) over the years and currently with Vista I use Photoshop CS2, Photoshop Elements 6, Paint Shop Pro X, Picture Window Pro 3.5, Neat Image, PTLens, Focus Magic, a few other free plug-ins, FastStone 3.9, and Portrait Professional 8. I think that is all. :)

Anyway, I was just wondering your thoughts about Linux and photography in August 2009?

By the way, I asked a similar question awhile back on another website, but I am hoping there are people here that might be able to comment. I hope this is the proper forum, but if it isn't then feel free to move it to the proper one.
01af
Imperial Ambassador

Re: Using Linux for photography

Unread post by 01af »

Even though I do like Linux for what it is as an operating system, I'd never waste a second on considering it for photography or image processing work. Photoshop doesn't run on Linux, so it's ruled out. As simple as that.

Of course you can do image processing on Linux if you absolutely want or need to. There are free raw converters (dcraw, UFraw, Raw Therapee a. o.), free image processors (The Gimp), and free databases (e. g. PostgreSQL) so you can create a capable image-processing environment for no money at all. Still ... no Photoshop. Thank you but no thanks.

-- Olaf
braeside
Grand Caliph

Unread post by braeside »