Bought a Dell U2415 monitor

From RAW conversion to image editing and printing
bakubo
Tower of Babel

Bought a Dell U2415 monitor

Unread post by bakubo »

I have been using various laptops for all my photo work since 2006. Even before 2006 I sometimes used laptops, but back then I would sometimes be in one place for quite awhile so at those times I used desktops. My last desktop was one I bought in 2005. I added a 19" IPS LCD monitor that was well reviewed for photo use and was recommended by lots of people on a photo forum. I also had a DataColor Spyder monitor calibrator. Anyway, I gave the desktop and monitor to my sister in 2006 and have been using only uncalibrated laptops since then since I need to be more mobile. The monitor calibrator is packed away back in the States and I haven't used it since 2005. At the moment I have these 2 laptops:

2012: 17.3" Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720 900p -- 1600x900
i7-3630qm (2.4ghz, Turbo Burst 3.4Ghz) quad core
256gb ssd (Win10 Anniversary, LR catalog)
1tb hd (photos and data files)
8gb ram
Nvidia GeForce GT 650M 2gb
HDMI and VGA

2016: 13.3" HP Spectre x360 ultrabook -- 1920x1080
i5-6200u (2.3ghz, Turbo Burst 2.8ghz) dual core
256gb ssd (Win10 Anniversary, LR catalog)
8gb ram
HDMI and Mini DisplayPort
4tb USB 3 portable hd (photos and data files)

The Dell screen is not all that great. The HP screen is better. Neither one has been calibrated. But, I have used the Dell to do almost all my photo editing with Lightroom and Photoshop since 2012. Galleries such as India, Nepal, Turkey, etc. were all done using it:

http://www.bakubo.com/Galleries%202/index.html

I have looked at the photos on my website on various computers and tablets over the years and I have been pleasantly surprised to discover that I never found anything untoward as to color, contrast, etc.