Fuji Pro 160S

Everything to do with colour negative shooting, developing and printing
bfitzgerald
Subsuming Vortex of Brilliance

Fuji Pro 160S

Unread post by bfitzgerald »

I just got 5 rolls through, thought I would give this film a bash. I have some people/portait work this weeked. So I was planning on using some film, some digital, mixing it up..and seeing how things went.

I have never used this film before, I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on this film.
Heard good things about it, and Kodak portra. Any notable differences between the two films??
David Kilpatrick
Site Admin

Re: Fuji Pro 160S

Unread post by David Kilpatrick »

I used Fuji's earlier 160 NPS for years, and also their NPC. If you have been using consumer grade film, the biggest differences are in contrast and colour rendering - very much more subtle, like Reala rather than any of the Kodak Gold, Fuji Superia etc type films. Be very careful with underexposure on this, or Kodak Portra. Very accurate exposure gives the best results. The films are tolerant of overexposure but about 0.5 to 1 stop less tolerant to underexposure, compared to consumer films. This is not because they are worse, it's because they are labelled for 160 but if they were sold for consumer use, they would be called 100. The stated ISO is accurate, without the usual safety margin added.

David
Dusty
Emperor of a Minor Galaxy

Unread post by Dusty »

If memory serves me right, I had better results with NPS when rated at ISO 125 in my medium format camera.

Dusty
bfitzgerald

Unread post by bfitzgerald »

Thanks for the info. I think I will try the film at rated speed. I have read some threads on forums suggesting maybe to rate it a bit lower. I will have to see how the results come out.